The Dreaded Artist Statement

I think one of the most difficult things I’ve had to learn at art school is how to write an artist statement.  Describing your own artwork can be very challenging especially when it can involve very personal emotions or experiences, but now I realize that a good statement can provide a curious viewer with the artist’s true intentions, inspiration, and technique.  I think this can be a key factor in acquiring positive feedback from both educated and casual viewer.

I’ve been working on my artist statement for my Printmaking Thesis.  This particular statement will be displayed at my thesis show in May alongside my work both as a description of the work and to offer insight to interested viewers.  I created a new page where my statement will be readily available, but it is currently labeled as “Under Construction” because I am not satisfied yet with the intro and conclusion.  Feel free to check it out and let me know what you think!

Here’s a little preview of what my print pieces look like, I’m looking forward to describing my process a bit in an upcoming post!

Leave a Reply

